Books Review of Hunger Games trilogy and Nick Bland’s Bear Series

Spread the love

The Hunger Games trilogy by the award-winning author Suzanne Collins is made even more famous by the three movie versions of The Hunger Games films with the first film ‘The Hunger Games’ started in 2012, the second film ‘The Hunger Games: Catching Fire’ 2013 and the most recent third film ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 1’ in 2014. All three movies are box-office hits! We are waiting to catch the concluding fourth film, ‘The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2’ this year. The popularity of Hunger Games is being compared with the same level as Harry Potter and Twilight series.

Thanks to Scholastic for sponsoring our team with Hunger Games trilogy and Nick Bland’s bear series. 

Books Review

After we have watched The Hunger Games movies, it further interest us to pick up the books and read more about it. The story is about Katniss Everdeen, a 16 years old girl who is highly skilled with a bow as she has to do illegal hunting beyond the boundaries of District 12 where she and her family live in order to support her family. The story will follow Katniss Everdeen in her quest when she volunteers to take her sister’s place as a tribute to be her District’s representative in the Games.

The Government has created a reality show which the whole nation will watch the 24 tributes from various Districts battle against each other to death until only one is left as a winner in the Games. The reality show is constantly made even more challenging with the Government’s constant monitoring of adding technological challenges and obstacles to the participants in their battles. Every one of the citizen in all the Districts is required to watch the Games until a winner has emerged. Having to win the game is important to the District, rewards in the form of more food and some luxuries will be given to the winner’s District.

However in Katniss Everdeen’s fight to be the winner to save herself and also her whole District will benefit if she is a winner is made even more complicated by the other tribute from District 12, Peeta Mellark. He is the baker’s son, whom Katniss owes a favor by a kindness that he has given to her when she was most desperate and her family’s survival was at stake. Katniss knows that her survival in the Games will mean Peeta’s death and how is she able to overcome this dilemma and struggles while fighting for survival. 

The Hunger Games series is a remarkable book well written by Suzanne Collins that easily draws the reader into the story line. We simply can’t stop reading and wanting to finish all the 3 books to find out what will happen to Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark. The story contains violence and strong emotions from the characters as they fight with their inner and outer battles and struggles to be a survivor. Depending on your kids, it is best to read it when they are more mature and probably in their teens. As for us, we have watched the movies and are familiar with the story line. reading the books give us a deeper understanding. We will be able to appreciate The Hunger Games trilogy more. 

Books Review 3

Nick Bland’s bear series is a set of books consists of ‘The Very Itchy Bear’, ‘The Very Cranky Bear’ and ‘The Very Hungry Bear’ suitable for children at Kindergarten level. 

Books Review 4

Books Review 5

Author Nick Bland is also the illustrator for the books, he did such an amazing job making the characters pop out with their vivid expressions and funny depictions of the animals’ characters and personalities. The series of books are beautifully illustrated keeping in mind to keep the young ones entertained.

The bear series is a fun and enjoyable books to read together with your kids. The books also carry a deeper meaningful messages to encourage the young readers to deal with life issues like negotiation skills, being able to think out of the box, problem solving skills and caring for people. It has good life lessons in the stories. 

Books Review 7

Our little one simply love to read the books and he has read it many times already. He thoroughly enjoyed reading, looking at the colourful illustrations and he will keep asking questions about the characters in the books that will help to stimulate his thinking and ability to understand the meaning of the stories. We would certainly recommend Nick Bland’s bear series to parents with young children.

About Scholastic, it is the publisher and distributor for books such as Clifford The Big Red Dog, Geronimo Stilton series, Harry Potter, The Maze Runner, The Hunger Games trilogy, etc. Besides than non-fiction best sellers, it also has educational titles suitable for children of all ages. 

Scholastic’s mission is built on helping children learn to read and love to read. It believes that independent reading is a critical part of children’s learning and growth. With support from teachers, parents, and schools, children choose from Scholastic the books they want to read, and discover the pleasure and power of reading. Finding the right book at the right time can light an emotional spark within children that motivates them to read more, understand more, and read joyfully.

When that happens, the world opens. Everything becomes possible

Please click HERE to find out more about Scholastic, its wide varieties of books and educational materials suitable for schools, teachers, parents and children. 











About Author

Our Parenting World is Singapore's Award-Winning Premier Lifestyle, Entertainment and Family Website. Join us and have fun as we share a multitude of stories, ideas, giveaways/treats and updates on lifestyle and family-fun activities, events and adventures!

Comments are closed.